PDA

View Full Version : hello ORCA

MechaBlenny
04-11-2008, 09:07 AM
Hello to all of you!

I have been reading the forums here for a few months and finally got around to joining.

Here is a little background on me:

I have been keeping saltwater tanks for about 18 years. I used to work for a company called "Sea Life Aquariums" many years ago in NJ, where we did custom tank building, maintenance, and livestock. I also ran a fish dept for Petsmart ( way back in the day when they had saltwater). I was very into reef keeping back then , but have not had one setup for many years as I started a family and a career in Information Technology as well. I have recently returned to the obsession....I mean hobby ... and found both that much has changed in the reef world and that I had forgotton soooo much of what i used to know (theres soo much more coral avaible now ...and purple tangs arnt $300 anymore). Over the years I had continued to keep saltwater tanks , but not reefs.

I currently have a 75 gal reef setup : 75gal drilled , live rock sump, 440w vho's (4x110) , aqua clear protien skimmer , and I added my own fan setup to the lights.

Just took down a 55 gal FOWLR that was running for 6 years ( used to seed the 75 gal , so pretty much no cycle :) )

My wife, daughter, and I frequent Sea In The City , where Marcye and Chris take great care of us , and also Ocean Direct although its a bit of a drive , but definatley worth it.

I look forward to attending the events and meeting you all.

Lutefisk
04-11-2008, 09:14 AM
Welcome on board. We're always glad to see new faces.

Paul

JUICE
04-11-2008, 09:28 AM
welcome!

Cheekymonkey
04-11-2008, 09:29 AM
Welcome dude glad to have you aboard, looking foward to meeting you at our weekend the end of this month...

ccampo
04-11-2008, 10:34 AM
Welcome !!!
I've been here for only a couple of months, well almost 3 now, and it has been a good experience, you'll enjoy it too.

good luck,
Cesar

gwrench
04-11-2008, 06:57 PM
Welcome to ORCA!!!