PDA

View Full Version : I would like to change



Abitsalty
04-13-2008, 04:45 PM
How do I change my username if I can?

Michael
04-13-2008, 05:32 PM
admin should be able to, at least I can do so on my own test forums.

Abitsalty
04-13-2008, 05:49 PM
So do you know where I go or what to do? I don't know admin.

Lutefisk
04-13-2008, 06:02 PM
So do you know where I go or what to do? I don't know admin.

I'm an admin. But I think that you should be able to change you user name yourself.

Click on "Profile" under the banners at the top of the page.

Type in your new username in the top field.

Be sure to enter your "Current Password"

Click on "Submit" at the bottom of the page.


Paul

Michael
04-13-2008, 06:13 PM
Ive tried it, doesn't do anythnig even though it seems like you can edit that field.

Looked on phpBB Admin CP there field under board features -
----Allow username changes: Yes No

Maybe thats set to No as it is default one.

Jimbob
04-13-2008, 06:15 PM
Ive tried it, doesn't do anythnig even though it seems like you can edit that field.

Looked on phpBB Admin CP there field under board features -
----Allow username changes: Yes No

Maybe thats set to No as it is default one.

You are correct, that functionality has been turned off.

newb... what would you like to have your user name changed to? Please feel free to send either myself or Lutefisk a PM or repluy to this post with your desired username and one of us will look into it further for you.

Lutefisk
04-13-2008, 06:16 PM
Ive tried it, doesn't do anythnig even though it seems like you can edit that field.

Looked on phpBB Admin CP there field under board features -
----Allow username changes: Yes No

Maybe thats set to No as it is default one.


Yep, that was it. It is now set to be enabled. Good call bd1243.

Paul

Abitsalty
04-13-2008, 06:19 PM
OK it worked I am now Abitsalty Thanks a lot.

Michael
04-13-2008, 06:26 PM
ahh there we go, changed mine too while we playing around with it 8)

Lutefisk
04-13-2008, 06:34 PM
I was reminded why we had the username change disabled. When too many people change their usernames too frequently people start losing track of who's who. So, for now, I'm turning it back to disabled.

Admins will have the capabilities to change them so you don't have to be a newb forever 8)

Abitsalty
04-13-2008, 06:37 PM
Well thanks for allowing me to change it first.

Cheekymonkey
04-13-2008, 09:46 PM
Much better... :)

Abitsalty
04-16-2008, 08:14 PM
Off topic and not that it really matters but why are the time and dates all screwy on the forums?

Cheekymonkey
04-16-2008, 08:57 PM
Thats most likely due to your timezone settings in your profile

Abitsalty
04-16-2008, 08:59 PM
oh good call what does the gmt mean and the + - hours?

Cheekymonkey
04-16-2008, 09:00 PM
Well I think our timezone is GMT -05:00

Abitsalty
04-16-2008, 09:04 PM
Ahhh ok I will try it Thanks again!!!

Cheekymonkey
04-16-2008, 09:30 PM
No Problem, if that doesn't work for then get in touch with Paul or Jim, actually they are probably reading this right now...

Abitsalty
04-16-2008, 10:15 PM
It didn't work I am now on the timezone GMT +5 and it is the same

Abitsalty
04-16-2008, 10:17 PM
It is 10:16 pm Wednesday and this is what it says if any help Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:15 am

fragger
04-16-2008, 10:21 PM
Is the clock set to the right time on your computer. If you look at the post the day is right time is off a hour

Jimbob
04-17-2008, 06:48 AM
GMT -5 hours is what it should be... you had selected +5. I changed it for you, should be all set now.

Abitsalty
04-18-2008, 11:51 PM
Thanks jimbob!!!! All is good now. It was starting to get confusing but it is perfect now thank you.